Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Git Repository only has git files?

Hi I'm relatively new to Git so be gentle

ok so I have watched many videos now and read plenty and get the idea however there is one thing that has been bugging me. A colleague of mine said that he has a local repos which he handles using Git. He goes to this centrally stored Git repos then clones from this then copies the cloned repos back to the central location. After what I have read so far this seems an odd practice also the centrally stored Git repos that he's cloning from only has Git files, I was expecting it to have the source files and a git folder. To confirm in the folder which has been named project.git/ contains hooks, info, objects, refs. Cloning from this works fine but if I setup a new Git repos it has the source files in there and if I remove the source files leaving just the Git folder it obviously updates the Git folder to tell it there's nothing left.

Just to add to this, I tried the following. I created a new Git repos, populated as normal then copied just the .git folder as the centrally stored Git repos which I can clone which (which works fine). Is it ok to do it this way? any pitfalls? when I clone from this, edit then commit will the commits only commit to my cloned copy or will they make it back to my centrally stored copy?

I hope I've explained the scenario properly, any pointers would greatly appreciated.

Baldy

Server-based Git repos are known as "Bare" (created using the "--bare" option). They ONLY have the Git internal files: there is no facility for a working area.

When you clone, if your purpose is to make changes, etc. then you must not use the "--bare" option since if you do you'll end up with a repo that is incapable of enabling you to make such changes.